taiwan5Marc Cheng
(Executive Director, EU-Taiwan Office in Taipei, Taiwan (ROC)

Copyright: Research Institute for European and American Studies (www.rieas.gr) Publication Date: 2 November 2014

Due to the European Union's one China policy which recognize the Government of the People's Republic of China (PRC) as the sole legal government of China, there is no diplomatic or formal political relations between the EU and the Republic of China (ROC), Taiwan's official name. The only European state that has kept diplomatic relations with Taiwan is the Holy See. Even lack of official relations with most of the European countries, Taiwan has still established 1 embassy, 21 representative offices and 1 mission in the area of Europe. In 2003, the EU Commission opened a representation in Taipei, the European Economic and Trade Office (EETO). Today, there are 16 EU member states out of 28 are represented in Taipei.... Read more
We use cookies

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.